Monday, February 28, 2011

2011 IAP2 Leadership Team announced

IAP2 Board of Directors met for the first time as a Federation of Affiliates in Paris this past weekend (25 -27 February). One of their tasks was elect their leadership team and they elected

President Geoff Wilson - Canada
Vice President Nicky Leggatt - UK & Ireland
Treasurer - Theresa Gunn - USA
Secretary - Lucy Cole-Edelstein - Australasia

More information and an update to members will be available through Affiliates in the near future.

Congratulations to the new team!

Moira Deslandes
Executive Director, IAP2

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Jim Creighton Award Winner 2010 Visits Australia

Lars Kluver, from the Danish Board of Technology has been visiting Australia in the past week as a guest of University Western Sydney, Centre for Citizenship and Public Policy , newdemocracy and IAP2. During his visit IAP2 was able to present to him personally the 2010 Jim Creighton Award.

This award is made by the Board and the criteria used is to:
  • Have made a significant contribution to the practice over time – 10 years at least

  • Have a commitment to advancing the practice through supporting or enabling research

  • Be linked to IAP2 core values

  • Have capacity to maintain and build relationship with IAP2 and the practice in an international environment

The 201o recipient also demonstrated features of random selection, deliberative processes, innovation and creative approaches. international reach and most importantly courage.

In presenting the award on behalf of IAP2, 2010 Board and Judging Panel member, Professor Lyn Carson used the opportunity to acclaim the enduring contribution and leadership of Lars to the Danish Board of Technology and to the field. She was delighted that he had been able to participate in the IAP2 Summit and share his advice, practice and networks so generously.

Moira Deslandes, IAP2 Executive Director said: "the support and leadership of the World Wide Views project is a beacon to what might be possible in an international environment and has set a new platform for the potential of international public participation. At this time in our life on this planet, this work has never been more needed or vital. I hope this award will enhance, foster and encourage more work on this scale and field."

In his acceptance of the award Lars noted how much he appreciated that courage was recognised as this quality is what drives the practice, the profession and the reach of the Danish Board of Technology. He thanked his team and his country for consistently being at the forefront of this work in the international arena.